Tags

, ,

image

I begin 2016 by sharing that I have a three page article entitled “Tips for Personalizing a Toolbox” in the Winter/Spring 2016 issue of Woodcarving Illustrated Magazine. As you can see I even made it to the cover.   The article discusses my carved chair maker’s tool chest that I built just before I took my first Windsor chair class in 2007.   It was a class to build the Sack Back chair. Thank you to the editors of Fox Chapel Publishing for giving me this opportunity to be in print. 

Mike Dunbar in Hampton, New Hampshire, has been my teacher for Windsor chair making.   Mike recently announced that he and wife Sue were retiring from teaching Windsor chair making and that the buildings at the Windsor Institute were sold.  I wish them good health and the very best in this transition.  Now whenever I look at the top of that same carved tool chest I will remember all the people, like Mike, who have influenced my woodworking.  

You see I was blessed, like many others, to catch the bug in the mid 80’s to build Windsor chairs simply because we had champions like Mike. They kept up the appreciation for reproducing these fine and classic specimens of American furniture.  But as things change, I look forward to what inspirations in 2016 that I’ll have in exploring my passion for wood carving. My chair work will continue and one reason is that wood carving remains very important in making beautiful reproductions of Windsor chairs. Likewise with wood carving, I am grateful for having been taught and influenced by many outstanding wood carvers who enhanced my carving skills.  Stay tuned as there is a good chance that you’ll hear more carving talk from me.  

