Tags

Do you ever get sticker shock about a possible tool acquisition and say heh I can do that on my own? I can just make one myself.  I’m sure you do.  That is the way I feel right now about possibly making a snipe bill plane.  Then it comes down to whether it would really cost me more in terms of time and money in the end to make something myself. But if you know me, then you know I can build tools when I get the bug. I’ve built planes, saws, and foot powered machinery already myself, but a snipe bill plane looks more demanding in some ways. Yet a challenge can be a good thing for some of us. Suddenly you crave information, right?

Well I have several books on plane making and Todd Herrli’s DVD. A Larry Williams DVD (Lie-Nielsen) may soon be on my wish list too. By the way I have numerous molding planes including hollows and rounds so my interest in a snipe bill is not rash.

As one who comes from more humble means though, I am moving toward making a snipe bill molding plane. Why? Because my love of wooden molding planes goes back to the late 70s and early 80’s. I use them on occasion and love the details they offer.  I especially lean toward making tools that are hard to find, otherwise expensive to buy, and yet useful on projects I would need them for.  Bottom line, I am not content to pass up a chance to preserve a classic detail on a piece of furniture I know will outlast me.

I bet that sounds familiar to some of you. So if you’ve built one please let me know. I’d love to hear about your experiences. I like the idea of having flexibility on making bead details on furniture.

Thanks,
Jim

