I think that I’ll stick with carving spoons at least occasionally, but I am preoccupied now with getting the shape of the stem just right. When I look at a Peter Follansbee spoon, I’m drawn to the graceful curves he often leaves on the stem right before the bowl.  The simplicity and appeal of his wooden spoons is definitely there, but the stem is where I am learning to slow down.  After several spoons ending up with straight stems, I’ve seen the light on esthetic appeal of spoon stems with gradual curves. Leaving enough wood on the stem to work in a sweeping curve is my goal now.

Embarking on spoon carving is very appealing for many reasons, but I think the major aspect that I like is that it is eco friendly. If you make spoons you don’t have to discard or burn trimmed tree branches it is prime material for gobs of spoons.  Plus you don’t need to drop a whole tree for stock.  Pretty cool right there, but also sweet in terms of investment cost.  If you pay attention to safety and once you acquire the basic tools,  the  processing time is short.  Great for those woodworkers with limited shop time.  As full time clergy that is one of my challenges to squeeze in my shop time and still see something get done. 

Here is my most recent spoon and this time I made some strides on leaving enough wood on the stem and bowl to incorporate the sweeping gentle curves that are so distinctive on Swedish spoon carvings.  I’ll be paying more attention to incorporating the gentle curve on the profile off the spoons as well. My spoons still seem too bulky, but I’ll be working on aspect as well. 

