Tags

, , , , ,

Hi,
We moved our home and Windsor chair making shop in January 2013. I serve as a full-time pastor at St. Paul Lutheran Church in Bowling Green(Haskins), Ohio. I’m still setting up the Windsor chair making shop in Haskins, but here are a couple pictures of a Handmade Windsor chair that I just finished. This one is a gift to my Mom. It is a Philadelphia High Back Windsor chair. It reflects my training several years ago with Mike Dunbar at The Windsor Institute in Hampton, NH. The chair was finished by first applying a medium walnut dye, then coatings of red then black milk paint, distressing the milk paint to reveal the underlying red paint, sealing it with blonde dewaxed shellac, and finally applying a finish of Minwax wipe on polyurethane. I borrowed the idea of using shellac as a base coat before applying wipe on polyurethane from Peter Galbert another respected and well published Windsor chair maker. I had to rub out the finishes several times including the application of milk paint and the shellac base coat. Hope you enjoy the pictures of this black Windsor chair made in the Philadelphia style. I never cease to marvel at how nice these chairs look and the beauty of the design.

image

image

My blog has recently been added to Woodworking Blogs, which is part of one of the largest networks of blog directories on the Web. Please visit my blog’s personal page to vote for my blog and comment to other blog users.
